I didn’t end up having the best reading month as uni is now in full swing for me and I’ve been busy with assignments, so I’ve been feeling a bit slumpy in terms of reading. I still managed to read five books and one graphic novel and I still enjoyed everything that I read, this included two five star reads for me so I suppose I can’t really complain too much with that.

uprooted.jpg

Uprooted by Naomi Novik: This was the last of my library books that I had checked out and overall I quite enjoyed this one. I’ve been wanting to check this one out for a while as this book was making the rounds when I first discovered booktube a couple of years ago and I was not disappointed. I thought this had an interesting premise and I liked the world building, I did think it was a bit slow at first but once it had picked up I quite enjoyed it .I gave Uprooted 4 out of 5 stars.

supergirl vol.jpg

Supergirl Volume 1 – The Girl of Steel: This was the last of the graphic novels that I had to read that I bought at Sydney Comic Con last year. I’d been avoiding this one because I’d picked it up without reading any reviews or knowing anything about it and then I saw that it had really low ratings on goodreads. I ended up being pleasantly surprised by this though because I had a lot of fun reading this and I know there’s a second volume to this so I do want to continue reading, I really don’t understand why the ratings have been so low for this. I gave Supergirl Volume 1 – The Girl of Steel 4 out of 5 stars.

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent: I wrote a review for this one, so I’m not going to go to much into detail with this but I thought this was quite an interesting read. I’d never read a book set in Iceland and I liked how the landscape set the feel for the story. I gave Burial Rites 4 out of 5 stars.

magician

The Magician’s Nephew by CS Lewis: It’s finally happened. After being meaning to read the Chronicles of Narnia for years, this month I finally sat down and started reading The Magician’s Nephew. I decided to read in chronological order because that was how my complete series set is arranged. Even though I did enjoy this, I think it probably would have been better to start with the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. I gave The Magician’s Nephew 4 out of 5 stars.

three

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake: The book that turned my reading month around. I was a little nervous going into this book because I’d been hearing mixed things about it but I’m glad I gave this a chance because I ended up completely loving this book. It took a bit for me to get used to the writing style but once I got passed that I found myself needing to keep reading to find out what was happening. I haven’t felt this way about a book ending since A Court of Mist and Fury. I loved Three Dark Crowns so much that I went and preordered One Dark Throne. I gave Three Dark Crowns 5 out of 5 stars.

lion.jpg

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis: I absolutely loved reading this, I have seen both the 2005 movie and the BBC TV mini series but my memories of the actual book are very faint. I think I read this when I was in year 1, which was like 1994 for me so it was basically like reading this for the first time and I loved it, I actually wish I had properly read the Chronicles of Narnia when I was a child – I think this could have potentially been among my favourite books growing up. I gave te Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe 5 out of 5 stars.

