P8040035.JPGwar for

 

The third installment in this prequel series that started with Rise of the Planet of the Apes, in this installment we see Caesar and his Apes continuing on fighting a war with the humans that seems to be never ending. When the fighting gets personal for Caesar, he decides to go off on his own and confront the dreaded Colonel, who has made it his mission to not stop until every Ape is dead. Despite wanting to seek out vengeance on his own, he is followed by his closest Apes and he begins to realise some hard truths about himself and that if he doesn’t let go of his hatred and his desire for vengeance, the fighting will never stop and he could very well be responsible for the end of his fellow Apes.

I’d only just recently watched Dawn for the Planet of the Apes and so I was very much looking forward to seeing how this trilogy would wrap up. Overall I very much enjoyed the story, I liked that we mainly got the perspective of Caesar and the Apes side of the conflict but that we also got the bigger picture and saw how this War has cost both sides. This was a very well directed film, especially with the motion capture and Andy Serkis continued to give a very impressive performance as Caesar and how life like that he made him.

Overall I thought this story wrapped up well and thought it had a good ending. I think out of the trilogy Rise is still my favourite but I did like this one more than Dawn.

I gave War for the Planet of the Apes 4 out of 5 stars.

Director: Matt Reeves

Starring: Andy Serkis, Woody Harrelson, Steve Zahn, Karin Konoval, Amiah Miller

