P8120036.JPGvalerian

 

 

In the year 2740, a colony of humans live on the Alpha Station. A station that is shared by millions of different cultures and civilisations that work and live together, sharing their knowledge. Valerian and Laureline are officers, protectors of the peace and together work as partners. Assigned on a mission to retrieve a very rare object that was stolen from the government, it sets them off on a journey that sees them uncover a conspiracy involving the coverup of the destruction of a primitive world, a result of collateral damage in a brutal war. When their commanding officer is kidnapped from the surviving species of this doomed world, Valerian discovers that he has a unique connection to this world and there is a chance to right a wrong that happened all those years ago.

The Fifth Element is one of my favourite sci-fi films and I was definitely looking forward to checking this movie out since it’s by the same director. I’m a little conflicted on how I feel since visually the movie was very stunning and on the whole I was interested in the story but the characters felt very flat. I didn’t buy the relationship between the two leads and there were some questionable acting choices in this movie. It’s not a bad movie and I probably will rewatch it later but I wanted to love it a little bit more than I ended up doing.

I gave Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets 3 ½ out of 5 stars.

Director: Luc Besson

Starring: Dane DeHaan, Cara Delevinge, Clive Owen, Rihanna, Ethan Hawke, Herbie Hancock, Kris Wu, Rutger Hauer

